Weaver Fever

As I began building up my Etsy shop, I started an Instagram account to share projects and to hopefully attract more visits to my shop. Through Instagram, I discovered so many amazing creators, from knitters and crocheters to graphic artists and photographers. And eventually, weavers. I instantly became enamored with weaving and followed every weaver I could find! It all looked so beautiful, and challenging and I was seriously awestruck by some of the talent out there.

Of course, I got to a point where just ogling weavings wasn’t enough for me, I wanted to learn to create my own. There’s a wonderful tutorial on A Beautiful Mess that I used to get started. My first creation was small, but I was instantly in love with the craft.

image

My first little baby weaving.

I’ve kept at it, and my husband even obliged me by making a large loom for some bigger pieces, which I absolutely love.

It’s been a fun journey, and I’m learning more everyday. As I’ve said before, there are so many talented folks out there who generously share what they know with the rest of us and its so fun to add new techniques as I learn them.

If you’re curious about weaving, I really recommend the tutorial on A Beautiful Mess, it’s easy to follow and there are some additional lessons available after you’ve mastered the basics. Who knows, you might just find your new favorite hobby!

imageimage

 

 

Leave a Reply

